May 5, 2016

Cover Art 
"The Atonement"
Beverly Lewis

Wrapped up in her mistakes of the past and unable to forgive herself and others, Lucy Flaud throws herself into doing volunteer work.  The more she can do, the more she is able to forget what happened during her running around time.  That is until something makes her remember.

Her father begins going to an Englisch grief counseling group at a nearby church.  He becomes friends with an Englisch young man who is curious about the Amish way of life.  Mr. Flaud invites Dale to visit their farm where he meets Lucy.  It looks as if history is going to repeat itself when Dale and Lucy start spending a lot of time together, seemingly to help a homeless young woman and her little boy.  

What about Tobe Glick?  He has loved Lucy forever but she feels she cannot date him because of her past.  Tobe is moving with his family to Colorado.  Will Lucy ever see her friend again?  

Will lucy ever accept God's forgiveness and can she forgive herself?  Read Beverly Lewis' novel and discover what happens when you accept God at His Word.

************************
I enjoyed this book very much.  I will have to admit that it takes many chapters before you find out what has happened to Lucy and her father.  At times, this was a little frustrating.  I appreciate Mrs.  Lewi's emphasizing the King James Bible in her novel.  This was a great story on God's forgiveness.  I would give this book 5 stars. 

I RECEIVED THIS COMPLIMENTARY BOOK FROM BETHANY HOUSE FOR REVIEW PURPOSES.  
'





wade event promo - fb 

A female bodyguard plus her star NFL client plus danger equals a great recipe for romance! Her One and Only, book four in Becky Wade's Porter Family novels, releases May 3. To celebrate, Becky is hosting an author chat party on her Facebook page on May 5 at 5 PM PDT/8 PM EDT. Join Becky for an evening of book chat with other bookworms and prizes.

Plus a portion of all pre-sales and sales the release week of Her One and Only will be donated to the Intrepid Fallen Heroes Fund. For more details on how to purchase a copy, click here.

wade 400 - fallen heroes

About the Book

After ten years in the NFL, super star Gray Fowler is accustomed to obsessive fans. But when Gray starts receiving death threats from a stalker, his team hires an executive protection agency to guard him until the culprit is caught. Dealing with bodyguards 24/7 is a headache, especially when one of them is a young, beautiful woman. How can a female half his size possibly protect him better than he can protect himself?

Dru Porter is a former Marine, an expert markswoman, and a black belt–none of which saved her from disaster on her last assignment. In order to rebuild her tarnished reputation, she’s determined to find Gray’s stalker and, since relationships between agents and clients are forbidden, avoid a romantic attachment between herself and the rugged football player with the mysterious past.

Yet every secret that leads Dru closer to the stalker also draws her closer to Gray. As the danger escalates, they’ll survive only if they can learn to trust their lives — and their hearts — to one another.

Learn more and purchase a copy.

April 28, 2016

Pocket Prayers 
Pocket Prayers 
Max Lucado

Bestselling author Max Lucado has teamed up with six authors to write the Pocket Prayers series for those in need of peace, renewal, rest, faith, hope, joy, direction, serenity, and courage.
Short, simple prayers are very effective, which is why each book in the series contains forty guided prayers and complementary scriptures for any situation, including for:
—Moms (written with daughter Andrea Lucado)
—Grads (written with daughter Andrea Lucado)
—Dads (written with Mark Mynheir)
—Military Life (written with Mark Mynheir)
—Teachers (written with blogger Jennifer Hale)
—Friends (written with Betsy St. Amant)

********************************
Filled with encouragement and food for thought.  These are great to read at home, on the road, at work or anywhere!  

Each little book focuses on a different roles a person has, as each person is different and each role that God gives us is different.  The words that Max Lucado and his co-writers share are simple yet inspiring.  

These books would make perfect little gifts.  However, I wish that he would have used just the King James Bible.  

Reviewing these books were a delight and joy! I plan on sharing them with my family, as Mother's Day and Father's day is coming up.  My brother is graduation from college.  My older sister is a teacher and my younger sister will get the friend one!

Read more about the books here.

I RECEIVED THESE COMPLIMENTARY BOOKS FROM LITFUSE FOR REVIEW PURPOSES.

pocket prayers


The Bachelor Girl’s Guide to Murder 
"The Bachelor Girl's Guide To Murder"
Rachel McMillan

In 1910 Toronto, while other bachelor girls perfect their domestic skills and find husbands, two friends perfect their sleuthing skills and find a murderer.
Inspired by their fascination with all things Sherlock Holmes, best friends and flatmates Merinda and Jem launch a consulting detective business. The deaths of young Irish women lead Merinda and Jem deeper into the mire of the city’s underbelly, where the high hopes of those dreaming to make a new life in Canada are met with prejudice and squalor.
While searching for answers, donning disguises, and sneaking around where no proper ladies would ever go, they pair with Jasper Forth, a police constable, and Ray DeLuca, a reporter in whom Jem takes a more than professional interest. Merinda could well be Toronto’s premiere consulting detective, and Jem may just find a way to put her bachelor girlhood behind her forever–if they can stay alive long enough to do so.

*********************************
Adventurous, creative and mysterious.  This book is filled with surprises!  Fans of Nancy Drew and Sherlock Holmes will definitely want to read this book.

The characters are a bit quirky and zany, but likeable.  Well, most of them.  Merinda tended to get on my nerves.  I know that she's supposed to be independent and all about women's rights, but she was also selfish and self-centered.  

However, I really enjoyed Jem's character.  She was sweet, gentle and patient with Merinda. Jem truly wanted to help people while it seemed that Merinda just wanted to expand her business.  Jem also knew what she wanted and didn't want in a man.  I found that refreshing.  A lot of Christian fiction books have their women characters as confused and easily persuaded when it comes to the men in their life.  Or they don't know a good thing when they see it, but Jem did! 

 I am curious as to how Merinda and Jem became friends though.

Reading this time era was different for me, but I really enjoyed it.  The situations that Jem and Merinda got themselves into were humorous, yet terrifying.  It had me thinking, "What would I do in their situation?"

The "by the way" footnotes were helpful and cute, but at the same time distracting.  Such a unique and lovely way of filling you in without boring you with sordid details.  

Those who love mysteries, romance and historical fiction should read this book!

Read more about the book here.

I RECEIVED THIS COMPLIMENTARY BOOK FROM LITFUSE FOR REVIEW PURPOSES.

http://litfusegroup.com/campaigns/bachelor-girls-guide-murder-rachel-mcmillan

April 25, 2016

Sit, Stay, Love 
"Sit, Stay, Love"
Dana Mentink

Take one abrasive professional athlete, a quirky out-of-work schoolteacher, and an overweight geriatric dog, and you’re ready for a lesson in love . . . Tippy style.
Pro baseball pitcher Cal Crawford is not a dog guy. When he inherits his deceased mother’s elderly dog, Tippy, he’s quick to call on a pet-sitting service.
Gina isn’t thrilled to be a dog sitter when her aspirations lie in the classroom. Furthermore, she can’t abide the unfriendly Cal, a man with all the charm of a wet towel. But with no other prospects and a deep love for all things canine, she takes the job caring for Tippy.
As Gina travels through Cal’s world with Tippy in tow, she begins to see Cal in a different light. Gina longs to show Cal the God-given blessings in his life that have nothing to do with baseball or fame. When her longing blooms into attraction, Gina does her best to suppress it. But Cal is falling in love with her too…
Discover the charming story of Tippy, the dog who brought a family together.

***************************************
"Sit, Stay, Love" is a light-hearted romance that just makes you smile.  The story is as cute as the dog on the cover.  Dana Mentink made the characters real and easy to relate to, even if one of them is a professional MLB pitcher.  

Tippy seems to be a somewhat lazy, old dog, but she's more intuitive than you would think.  She has a knack of bringing people together at just the right time, even if she is a handful.  

I love the fact that it takes place in San Fransisco.  I'm believing that Cal was really on the SF Giants, since I'm a huge Giants fan! 

This is an easy and delightful read that is any book love and dog lover alike will enjoy reading.

Read more about the book here.

I RECEIVED THIS COMPLIMENTARY BOOK FROM LITFUSE FOR REVIEW PURPOSES.

April 14, 2016

Cover Art 
"Dressed For Death"
 Julianna Deering

A Regency-Era Costume Party Should Have Been an Amusing Diversion, but it Seems Wherever Drew Farthering Goes, Mystery--and Murder--Are on the Guest List

Drew and Madeline Farthering arrive at a Regency-era house party at Winteroak House, excited to be reunited with old friends, including Drew's former Oxford classmate Talbot Cummins. Tal is there with his fiancée, Alice Henley, and though many present seem worried about the couple, nobody is prepared when Alice dies from an apparent overdose. Tal refuses to believe she'd taken the drugs intentionally, and a dark question arises of whether the death is an accident or murder.

The police have their own information though, and Drew is shocked when they arrest someone he's trusted and admired since his childhood--someone who's been smuggling drugs into the country for years. Stunned by what has happened, Tal begs Drew to get to the bottom of everything, but Drew has never felt more unsettled. Questioning his own ability to see people as they really are, Drew doesn't know whom to trust, and he's not ready for the secrets he's about to uncover--or the danger he'll bring down on everyone he holds dear.

**************************************
These books have intrigued me ever since I heard about them, and I haven't been able to read one until now.  I really wish I could say that I loved it, but I did not.  From page one I was thoroughly confused, but that could be because I didn't read the other books.   I really tried to get into it, but just couldn't it. 

Drew and his wife seem like likeable characters, but I have no idea who anybody else is.  

Also, there was way too much dialogue for me.  Everybody was talking at once it seemed and I didn't know who they were or what they were talking about.  She also used terms, that I'm sure were from there era, but I didn't know what they meant.  Nor did I know what they were saying in French.  Like I said, it could just be because I didn't read the previous books.

I RECEIVED THIS COMPLIMENTARY BOOK FROM BETHANY HOUSE FOR REVIEW PURPOSES.